What Lecrae Taught Us About Sexual Abuse

In his popular song Good, Bad, Ugly, Lecrae did something unprecedented- he addressed the issue of physical abuse. He writes,

I remember back in the day

I was barely in the first grade

Got teeth mission’

Watchin’ Tom & Jerry

Tryna go outside so I can play

I was told to watch out for strangers

Keep my eyes peeled for danger

Folks workin’ late I had a baby sitter

I ain’t ’bout to sit here and name her

I was almost 8 when she came in late

Woke me up with a game to play

Did a few things that’s hard to say

And told me to keep that secret safe

Now how a young boy supposed to deal

I’m tryna act like it ain’t real

Had my innocence just stripped from me

And I still don’t know how to feel

And I wonder how to address it

Can’t tell my family too messy

So I just embrace it it’s hard to face it

I’m too ashamed to confess it

So I kept it in and ain’t speak

Didn’t think it hit me so deep

So into it I got promiscuous

And only God could help me get free

Good, Bad, Ugly by Lecrae

At a young age, Lecrae Devaughn Moore, popularly known as Lecrae, was sexually abused by a babysitter. Now, years later, he addresses this issue both in interviews, songs, and his popular book “Unashamed”. In it, he tells the story of his abuse, which later lead up to promiscuity at the age of fifteen.

This promiscuity continued into Lecrae’s college life, where he remained an unbeliever. Attempting to get a degree in the Arts, he later changed majors several times. Finally, after years of fighting God, he discovered Him.

The fantastic story of Lecrae’s conversion began at a Bible study, where he was constantly influence of his Christian friends. Finally, he was confronted by two people- his pastor, and another pastor that preached a rougher message of Faith. This preacher, Pastor White, gave a message that rang with Lecrae. He said that Jesus wasn’t someone weak and frail, but a man of strength and endurance. Immediately, Lecrae’s perspective of Jesus was being confronted.

Finally, the last blow came- the pastor began talking about sexual purity. Pastor White read from 1 Corinthians 6:20: “For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and your spirit, which are God’s.” (English Standard Version)

These words were the final piece to the puzzle. Lecrae repented and turned to the Lord. Although the next year was the worst and most difficult of his young life, he had found peace.

Lecrae’s story is far from complete. This is an extremely watered-down version, and if you wish to read more, buy Lecrae’s book Unashamed. Well worth the price, the book is a fantastic and life-changing read.

But what does this show? Firstly, we see that Lecrae’s abuse at an early age shaped him into a promiscuous, drug-addicted man with no ties to Christianity save those of his grandmother. Secondly, we see that for even the worst of sinners, there is forgiveness. Now, Lecrae is a Billboard-topping, Grammy-winning rapper with a fantastic testimony. And, finally, we see hope. Lecrae concludes his song with these lines.

But I been forgiven

My Savior risen

I’m out the prison

I know that

I got the power to say to no to all of my struggles

God will control that

Every time we slip and we fall

Gotta get back up and fight on

We are not defined by our past

The future look bright

I see the light on

Good, Bad, Ugly by Lecrae

As he says, the future is bright. Sexual abuse is far more common than we might think. According to the National Sexual Violence Resource Center, 1 in every 4 girls and 1 in every 6 boys will be sexually abused before the age of 18. This statistic is mind boggling. If you took a group of 100 average kids, half being boys and half being girls, you would find approximately 20 combined boys and girls that had been sexually abused.

As Lecrae’s story shows, sexual abuse victims often find themselves addicted to the horrors that they received. However, hope is not gone. God’s Word reigns true and it tells us that all who accept God and repent will be saved. Every effort must be put into reaching those that have been abused at a young age.

And, if you’re the one that’s been abused, you should know something: it’s not your fault. While still responsible for your own actions, you are not responsible for the actions of others. God loves you! There is grace for you. You are loved by Him, and you can still remain in Him.

If you know someone who has been abused, do not hesitate to reach out. Whether it’s through simple kindness, conversation, or even sharing your testimony, you can make a difference in that person’s life. If it weren’t for Pastor White, Lecrae would have never come to the Lord, and then we wouldn’t have his excellent music. Reach out and touch people, but in the best way- with Jesus and His sacrifice.

Hey, thanks for reading! I hope you really enjoyed that post. If you did, don’t forget to leave a like. Also, if you haven’t already, be sure to click that Follow button, so as to not miss out on any new posts. Thanks again, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Last Post: Africa: Expectations vs. Reality

Featured Post: John MacArthur and the Positions of the Church

7 thoughts on “What Lecrae Taught Us About Sexual Abuse

  1. No one seems to know how big of a deal it is, but the statistics are crazy high. (I thought we were supposed to be civilized?) This is something that I feel like will be in my future, (not abuse), but helping those who have been abused. That’s another one of the (many) reasons I chose psychology as my major in college.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Identity of the Christian Blogger – Africa Boy

  3. Pingback: Throwback: Lecrae and Sexual Abuse – Elisha McFarland

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.